Lanzarote_0001

Amateur Radio Summits on the Air activity from the Canary Islands by Steve (EA8)G1INK/P.

All my logs for my recent EA8 trip have finally been uploaded to the database. If you aren`t sure you made the contact then you can view my logs if you are logged in and check. There may be some who don`t appear as on more than one occasion I was working a particular station with 2 or even 3 other stations thinking I was talking to them.

I apologise for my very QRP signal, this was due to a few different reasons.
1. I borrowed a 4aH lipo battery off GW0DSP but I couldn`t get it to hold any charge, so I ended up taking a 1.5aH NiMh pack from my Aldi hedge clipper. Due to the lack of battery power I was running the ft817 at 2.5W.
2. I ordered a 10 section 4m travel pole to support the antenna. Despite being posted from Burton (30 miles away) on Wednesday, it didn`t arrive before I left on Monday. This meant that on most summits my antenna was very low – either my friend would hold the dipole centre at head height until he got tired, or I would use a cairn or similar to support it.
3. Big SSB contests on both weekends I was there 😦

Many thanks to all the chasers who did work me, the gold star goes to Mike GW0DSP who bagged all 12 summits with others getting most of them such as G0RQL, G6ODU, G0TRB, HA7UG, EC2DM etc.

I made 428 contacts comprising 333 on 20m & 95 on 10m.
Chasers collecting continents for awards will be pleased to know EA8 should normally count as Africa.

Biggest disappointment was only 16 contacts on LA-002 due to the massive QRM from the commercial transmitters up there.
Biggest thrill was the superb ridge walk on Fuertaventura between FU-001 & FU-004, check it out on Google Earth.

I activated all summits on Lanzarote with the exception of LA-009 Timanfaya. This lies inside the Islands most important and iconic National Park. It is 8 Euro to enter the park and you are forbidden to leave the way-marked path. This path goes nowhere near the summit. I have read that the temperature of the ground at the summit can exceed 100C so I can`t imagine this summit will ever get activated.

A casual glance at the map combined with travelling around the Island leaves me to believe there may be at least another 6 P150 summits, no doubt these may be identified and incorporated into the ARM at a future date. A big thanks to EA8AY and others for the hard work in setting up the association.

I would advise anybody who is thinking of activating in EA8 to take either walking boots or very tough shoes. I took the latter but didn`t always wear them – this eventually cost me a pair of trainers and 3 pairs of socks. Also, I know it`s common sense, but you can never carry too much water (even though I hit the tail end of the worst weather for over 40 years).

I`ve made a short movie from video clips, stills & sound bites if anyone is interested in the terrain. I will apologise for the poor quality in advance as I only took my small cheap Aldi travel cam.

I`ll post a few pics on Flickr when I get organised.

73 Steve EA8/G1INK

Summits Activated:

EA8/LA-001 Peñas del Chache 670m 2pt
EA8/LA-002 Atalaya de Femes 608m 2pt
EA8/LA-003 Corona 605m 2pt
EA8/LA-004 Guardilama 603m 2pt
EA8/LA-005 Montaña Blanca 599m 1pt
EA8/LA-006 Hacha Grande 561m 1pt
EA8/LA-007 Pico Redondo 561m 1pt
EA8/LA-008 Guatisea 544m 1pt
EA8/LA-010 Montaña Negra 509m 1pt
EA8/LA-011 Señalo 507m 1pt
EA8/FU-001 Pico de la Zarza 812m 4pt
EA8/FU-004 Fraile 683m 2pt

This entry was posted in Activation, HF, SSB and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

